Ride no. 64 – Negotiating Stirling city centre (and outlying villages)…

Wow, it’s been AGES since I’ve written in this wee blog. I’ve been very busy with my new job, new city (well, new country), and going on holidays (yay!!).

p1140421

Welcome to my second day of work at my new job, in a new city… well, in a new country technically. This ‘ride’ was a bit of a commute to work and around the surrounding area and back – nothing too exciting but a ride nonetheless!

A bit about my job and my ‘new life’ as it were. It’s working for the university of Stirling Students’ Union, as an Environmental Projects Assistant. Myself and another assistant are coordinating the FEAST project, which is an acronym for Food Education At STirling university. Three elements dominate the project – food education (teaching school kids, uni students, and the wider community about sustainable food, including environmental  theory as well as practical skills of cooking), a food co-operative (making sustainable food convenient, accessible and affordable as it will be bought in bulk and sold on campus), and the community garden (a place to showcase sustainable food growing methods while giving people a place to get hands-on experience with gardening).

It’s a bit of a mouthful to explain, so I usually just stick to ‘sustainable food education’ as a tagline of what I now do. It’s absolutely brilliant though, and to work within a setting that is very similar to my university experience (at University of Victoria, the Garden of Eden of Canada!) is amazing.  As I said in my last post, the physical location is also a bit of a bonus – Stirling is in between the Highlands and Lowlands of Scotland and I really hope I will explore Scotland more now that I am up here.  I don’t think I would move out of Cumbria for many places, really – a big city would intimidate me (unless it’s Bristol, that’s a rad city), a really rural location might feel too isolated (unless there were sheep involved to keep me company/occupied), and somewhere really flat would just drive me bonkers. I need hills/mountains/fells in my life – I just feel more at ease knowing they are there to walk or bike up, or just to observe as the seasons pass.

Speaking of hills! My ride today also consisted of looking at a house in a village outside Stirling that is at the foot of the Ochil hills outside Stirling. Beautiful little ride too – on a cycle path that runs alongside the road, past sheep and cattle fields. No stone walls, but hey, this isn’t England :P. The Ochils are a really beautiful little set of hills though, with the grand Dumyat hill looming over the villages of the foothills.

But! That’s enough for now, have work in the morning and need to be getting off to sleep. Nighty night!

Leave a Reply

