Ride no. 28 – Walla Crag

Ride no. 28 consisted of a Saturday evening, after-work mountain bike ride up Walla Crag. I went up Walla via Springs Farm, to the top, down to Ashness Bridge, then to the “Borrowdale road” for a spell, then back home via the footpath around Derwentwater.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had a really fun ride once I got out there – good sweaty climb/push to the top, and a really fast ride down. The trail alternated between bone dry and a sopping wet river (weird), but was a blast nonetheless. Not sure if it’s my new tires, or that my bike is working really well at the minute, or that I’ve been out on my bike a lot more this year than last — but I felt uber confident this ride. I was riding lines I haven’t done in ages, riding a lot quicker then I usually do, and generally just being a ballsy rider – it was ace :).

Last night was a bit of a struggle to get motivated to go out riding, truth be told, even though the weather was absolutely brilliant yesterday (warm, sunny, and dry). I think this was mostly because I was physically really tired after a full-on day at work, as well as a couple of tiring days of exercise!

Friday was Jacks birthday (which I do plan to share at some point, as I got lots of good lamb pictures!) and we went for a gentle, but long, walk in the hills. The day before that I did a mega-run,  by accident, which sort of ruined my legs. I went out for a small run (30 minutes-ish) and ended up getting lost and being out past dark – about an hour and a half! Whoops. Being that I’m ‘not a runner’, and don’t often do long runs, this shattered me pretty badly. Moral of the story I suppose is that running is bad for you and your riding! 😛

I’m running a lot more lately in a bid to be a bit fitter ‘all-round’ — also why I’ve done a lot more weight training the last 6 months, as well as more yoga! My first love is bicycles though, so I’ll always go back to mountain biking, roadie riding and touring for the sheer fun of it.

Righto – need to do some boring, necessary stuff like cleaning the flat, making dinner, writing emails, doing laundry … booorinnnng.

 

 

One thought on “Ride no. 28 – Walla Crag

  1. Hello every one, here every one is sharing these know-how, so it’s good to read this website, and I used to pay a visit this weblog all the time.

Leave a Reply

