Ride no.14: Birthday ride up Walla Crag!

Looking out over Derwentwater

Happy Birthday to meeeee! I spent the first day of my 27th year on this earth doing some of the things I love: drinking good coffee, playing with wool, riding my bike, and eating delicious food!

I woke up semi-early and hopped on a bus to Penrith, where I was set to meet Marion Woolcot, a lady with quite  a bit goin’ on. She not only teaches wool spinning classes, but also is a founding member of the Wool Clip – Cumbria’s very own wool and craft cooperative. She also helps in a big way to organize Wool Fest, the biggest non-profit festival of wooly goodness in the UK (or maybe even the world!). Had a really good morning with her learning to spin and chatting about life, sheepys, and wooly things.

The ride I did was a small one, but scaled Walla Crag in the evening light. The clouds were dramatic and beautiful, and the sun was just setting over the mountains as I reached the top. I took loads of photos and then it started to snow (!), so I high tailed it back to town. Got back to a lovely dinner made by my Englishman and had a wonderful night. All in all a grand day :). Here are some snaps of my wee ride for you to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

