In love with Being Erica

 

I have totally fallen in love with a lady named Erica Strange.

This lady is the fictional main character on the Canadian drama/comedy ‘Being Erica’. I happened upon Being Erica by chance, on a particularly uneventful and rainy Cumbrian afternoon. I am so glad that I found it though! Not only because it is a proudly Canadian show (yay!), but it also is so very insightful (in addition to being very entertaining).

Being Erica explores the complex subject of growing up as a person – how to realize who you are and how to be true to yourself  –  in such an honest, intelligent and refreshing way. It is very much like how Sex and the City brought a new perspective to issues surrounding relationships (both romantic and otherwise), but with a more varied range of issues.

I’ll admit, it’s a bit of a goofy premise for a TV show – this ‘unsuccessful’ woman in her early 30s hits a low point in her life and ends up going into therapy. It’s a special type of therapy that allows the patient to time travel to redo the regrets of their past. I was a bit skeptical at first of the premise itself (the time travelling thing makes it sound hokey), but after a couple episodes I was absolutely hooked. I also have a lot of respect for the women in the show – Erica is a strong, intelligent, independent woman, and it is refreshing to see so many females in positions of power (Erica, Julianne, Dr.Naadia) on mainstream television.

Also, loving the music. When it isn’t some quality 80s/90s music that accompanies the time travelling (which really brings me back to highschool), it’s Canadian artists such as Stars, The Tragically Hip, Sarah Mclachlan and miss Melanie Doane (who I’ve never heard of before, but now have her song constantly stuck in my head!). And the actors are fabulous (also Canadian!) and it’s beautifully shot in Toronto (which, I never thought could look so hip and trendy).

I think it’s essential viewing for anyone who feels a little lost with themselves. I know many twenty-somethings, in that awkward “I’m-not-sure-who-I-am-or-what-I’m-doing-with-my-life” stage of life would benefit from the hidden gems of advice that are everywhere in this show. I know I did. I shall leave you with a couple of my favourite quotes from Being Erica:

“Life is simple, and short. If something makes you happy, you have to hold onto it, because at any moment, it could be taken away. It’s your choice.”

“Change is inevitable. The only constant is that nothing is constant, and our best defence is to change how we deal with it”

Honestly, go. Watch. You’ll love it. http://www.cbc.ca/beingerica/episodes.html

Leave a Reply

