The Clean Bin Project & All.I.Can

Hello!

I’ve been wanting to post about all sorts of random things… but alas, I’m a bit stranded under piles of school work at the minute. I will be done in… March, though. And, I will be ACTUALLY DONE! Meaning that all these years and years of undergrad (and all those semesters taken off for working, biking, skiing…) will come to a close and I will be *officially* graduated.  😀

Until then, here are a couple of trailers of some moooovies I quite like the look of – and, fair warning, they are total hippie documentaries, the only type of film I tend to watch nowadays.

The Clean Bin Project:

A lovely little film about a Vancouver couple who go an entire year without making house hold waste. Since I’ve only seen the trailers, I’m still clueless about how they get around the toilet paper scenario.

I read a book called No Impact Man (http://noimpactman.typepad.com/), which sounds a bit similar. His was a bit more all-encompassing and a bit more intense, as he just kind of threw his family into this project without (seemingly) that much excitement on their part- at least in the beginning. Good read though, gives an insight into how dependent we are on all our STUFF and what we miss out on in life because of our multitude of distractions (including blogs :P).

Another film I haven’t seen yet but am buying Jack for Christmas on itunes is All.I.Can, which is an epic ski film that thinks about skiing in the context of climate change. In other words, how skiing in BC will be shitty/non-existent if we don’t actually make proper progress towards mitigating climate change.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/16442800″>All.I.Can. Official Teaser</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/sherpas”>Sherpas Cinema</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Righto, off to school work. Heart you all!

Leave a Reply

